New Jersey Minimum Wage 2022 (2022)

Contents :: New Jersey Minimum Wage

  • Overtime Wage Law
  • Minimum Wage Exemptions
  • NJ Labor Law Poster
  • FAQ

2022 Hourly Minimum Wage

$13.00 / hour

Weekly Minimum Wage1

$520.00 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$27,040.00 / year

2021 Hourly Minimum Wage

$12.00 / hour

Weekly Minimum Wage1

$480.00 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$24,960.00 / year

2020 Hourly Minimum Wage

$11.00 / hour

Weekly Minimum Wage1

$440.00 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$22,880.00 / year

2019 Hourly Minimum Wage

$10.00 / hour

Weekly Minimum Wage1

(Video) NJ Minimum Wage - Increase for 2022

$400.00 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$20,800.00 / year

2017 Hourly Minimum Wage

$8.44 / hour

Weekly Minimum Wage1

$337.60 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$17,555.20 / year

2016 Hourly Minimum Wage

$8.38 / hour

Weekly Minimum Wage1

$335.20 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$17,430.40 / year

2015 Hourly Minimum Wage

$8.38 / hour

(Video) New Jersey, Delaware Both Increasing Minimum Wage In 2022

Weekly Minimum Wage1

$335.20 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$17,430.40 / year

2014 Hourly Minimum Wage

$8.25 / hour

Weekly Minimum Wage1

$330.00 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$17,160.00 / year

2012 Hourly Minimum Wage

$7.25 / hour

Weekly Minimum Wage1

$290.00 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$15,080.00 / year

2011 Hourly Minimum Wage

$7.25 / hour

(Video) Minimum wage increase set to hit NJ amid inflation struggles

Weekly Minimum Wage1

$290.00 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$15,080.00 / year

2010 Hourly Minimum Wage

$7.25 / hour

Weekly Minimum Wage1

$290.00 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$15,080.00 / year

2008 Hourly Minimum Wage

$7.15 / hour

Weekly Minimum Wage1

$286.00 / 40-hr week

Yearly Minimum Wage2

$14,872.00 / year

(Video) Minimum Wage Increasing In New York, New Jersey

New Jersey's state minimum wage rate is $13.00 per hour.This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage.The minimum wage applies to most employees in New Jersey, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.

The New Jersey minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $5.85 from $7.15 to $13.00.New Jersey's minimum wage rate is linked to a Consumer Price Index, which is intended to raise the rate along with inflation. The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values.

The minimum wage in New Jersey is $13.00 per hour. Seasonal and small businesses (fewer than 6) is $11.90, and agriculture workers: $10.90. The tipped minimum wage is $5.13.Minimum wage increase history is as follows: $10.00/hr in 2019, $8.38 per hour in January 2015. In 2013, voters approved a constitutional amendment to raise the New Jersey minimum wage a full dollar from $7.25 per hour to $8.25 per hour as of January 2014. This amendment also attached New Jersey's minimum wage to the Consumer Price Index (CPI), so the minimum wage may be adjusted based on the CPI every year on September 30th.

College students may be paid as little as 85% of the minimum wage by their college or university, and certain occupations held by minors under age 18 are completely exempt. Employees at nonprofit or religious summer camps or retreats are exempt from the minimum wage between June and September. Unlike most other states, seasonal and agricultural workers are not exempt from the minimum wage.

New Jersey employers may not pay you under $13.00 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.

If you have questions about the New Jersey minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible. Looking for a new job? Use the free New Jersey job search utility to find local job openings hiring now.

All New Jersey employers must display an approved New Jersey minimum wage poster in a prominent place to inform employees about the minimum wage and their worker's rights under New Jersey labor law.

Think the New Jersey Minimum Wage should be raised? LIKE on Facebook!

New Jersey Minimum Wage 2022 (1)New Jersey Minimum Wage & Labor Law Posters

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and New Jersey labor law requires all employers in New Jersey to visibly display an approved New Jersey minimum wage poster, and other New Jersey and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of federal and New Jersey labor law and overtime regulations. Failure to display a New Jersey labor law poster in the workplace can result in severe fines.

New Jersey Minimum Wage 2022 (2)

Get a New Jersey all-in-one labor law poster New Jersey Minimum Wage 2022 (3)

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory New Jersey and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all New Jersey and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for October 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

The New Jersey minimum wage poster, and additional required New Jersey labor law posters, are also available on the New Jersey labor law posters download page.

New Jersey Minimum Wage 2022 (4)New Jersey Overtime Minimum Wage

NJ Overtime Wage

$19.50 / hour

Daily Cutoff for Overtime

N/A

Weekly Cutoff for Overtime

40 hours/week

All workers who put in over 40 weekly hours are entitled to a minimum wage of at least 1.5 times the regular applicable minimum wage(learn more about New Jersey overtime pay). Some states require workers who work over a certain number of daily hours to be eligible for this overtime rate as well (New Jersey law does not specify a daily overtime limit).

The FLSA guarantees all NJ employees adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you can file an unpaid overtime claim with the New Jersey Department of Labor.

[Top]

New Jersey Minimum Wage 2022 (5)New Jersey Minimum Wage Exemptions

In addition to any New Jersey-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. You may be paid under the New Jersey minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:

  • New Jersey Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in New Jersey to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
  • New Jersey Student Minimum Wage - $11.05 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the New Jersey minimum wage (as little as $11.05 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).
  • New Jersey Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $13.00 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the New Jersey tipped minimum wage.

[Top]

New Jersey Minimum Wage 2022 (6)Frequently Asked Questions - New Jersey Minimum Wage & Labor Law

What is the New Jersey minimum wage?

The current New Jersey minimum wage of $13.00 per hour is the lowest amount a non-exempt employee in New Jersey can legally be paid for hourly work. Special minimum wage rates, such as the "New Jersey waitress minimum wage" for tipped employees, may apply to certain workers.[1]

How much will I earn working a minimum wage jobin New Jersey?

A full time minimum wage worker in New Jersey working 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year, will earn $104.00 per day, $520.00 per week, and $27,040.00 per year1. The national poverty line for a family unit consisting of two people is $16,020.00 per year.

What is the New Jersey under 18 minimum wage?

New Jersey employers may pay 18 year olds and minors the youth minimum wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. Other labor law exemptions for minors in New Jersey may exist.

I still can't find the answer to my question about the New Jersey minimum wage!

If you have read the FAQ and still cannot find the information you need, please contact us with your question.

1 These earnings estimates do not account for the New Jersey income tax New Jersey Minimum Wage 2022 (7), federal income tax, or local/municipal income taxes.
2 Poverty line for a family of two in the lower 48 published 2016 by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services New Jersey Minimum Wage 2022 (8)

Labor Law Footnotes, Sources & Citations:

  1. The weekly earnings estimate of $520.00 is based on a standard 40-hour workweek
  2. The yearly earnings estimate of $27,040.00 is based on 52 standard 40-hour work weeks. Since most hourly employees don't work full time and/or take time off, actual yearly earnings will likely be lower.

FAQs

What will the minimum wage be in 2022 NJ? ›

Effective January 1, 2022, the New Jersey minimum wage is $13.00 per hour for most workers. Learn more about the increase.

Will the wages be raised in 2022 in NJ? ›

Most minimum wage earners in New Jersey received a raise of $1 per hour as of January 1, 2022. The new minimum hourly wage is $13.00, part of a scaled increase that will see it rise to $15.00 by 2024.

What is the minimum wage in New Jersey 2023? ›

TRENTON – New Jersey's statewide minimum wage will increase by $1.13 to $14.13 per hour for most employees, effective January 1, 2023.

What date does minimum wage go up 2022? ›

When did minimum wage go up in 2022? Minimum Wage went up on April 1, 2022 for those aged 23 years and older. Ex-Chancellor Rishi Sunak first announced the increase on October 27, 2021 as part of his Autumn Budget. The new wage marks the third highest annual increase since the financial crash of 2008.

Is it legal to pay less than minimum wage in NJ? ›

New Jersey employers may not pay you under $13.00 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law. If you have questions about the New Jersey minimum wage, please ask us and someone will respond to you as soon as possible.

Can you get paid less than minimum wage in NJ? ›

Will New Jersey raise its minimum wage in 2022 and beyond? The New Jersey minimum wage in 2022 will be set at $13 per hour for most employees beginning on January 1, 2022, $14 in 2023, and $15 by January 1, 2024.

What is a livable wage in New Jersey? ›

Living Wage Calculation for New Jersey
1 ADULT2 ADULTS (BOTH WORKING)
0 Children2 Children
Living Wage$20.57$29.60
Poverty Wage$6.19$6.37
Minimum Wage$13.00$13.00

How much does target pay hourly in NJ? ›

How much does Target - Retail in New Jersey pay? Average Target hourly pay ranges from approximately $9.82 per hour for Cashier/Clerk to $25.00 per hour for Consumables Associate. The average Target salary ranges from approximately $19,001 per year for Retail Sales Associate to $154,517 per year for Store Director.

How many hours is full-time in NJ? ›

Full-Time Employee means an employee who works a normal work week of 25 or more hours.

What is the highest minimum wage in the US? ›

As of January 2018, there were 29 states with a minimum wage higher than the federal minimum. Washington, D.C., and New York City have the highest minimum wage at $15.00 per hour. The minimum wage in New Jersey is $13.00 an hour as of January 1, 2022, but will be raised a dollar a year until 2024 when it will be $15.

What was NJ minimum wage in 1994? ›

New Jersey Minimum Wage History
StateWage% Increase
New Jersey Minimum Wage 1994$5.050%
New Jersey Minimum Wage 1993$5.050%
New Jersey Minimum Wage 1992$5.0518.8%
New Jersey Minimum Wage 1991$4.2511.8%
36 more rows

What is the minimum wage in Jersey City? ›

Last UpdatedJune 16, 2022 at 9:58 PM

Included in the City's 2022-2023 fiscal year budget, the Living Wage Statute will boost salaries for hundreds of current and future Jersey City residents and workers from $17 to the new standard of $20 per hour - which is $7 more than New Jersey's current hourly minimum wage.

How many hours is full-time? ›

Definition of Full-Time Employee

For purposes of the employer shared responsibility provisions, a full-time employee is, for a calendar month, an employee employed on average at least 30 hours of service per week, or 130 hours of service per month.

What is the difference between minimum wage and Living Wage? ›

The National Minimum Wage is the minimum pay per hour almost all workers are entitled to. The National Living Wage is higher than the National Minimum Wage - workers get it if they're over 23. It does not matter how small an employer is, they still have to pay the correct minimum wage.

What is the real Living Wage? ›

So, what are the five key differences? The real Living Wage is... based on the cost of living. The real Living Wage is the only wage rate calculated based on the true cost of living, whereas the National Living Wage is a % of average earnings.

Can a company pay you less than minimum wage? ›

It is illegal for your employer to pay you less than the National Minimum Wage, so check your pay and talk to your manager to make sure you're getting the pay rate increase you are entitled to.

How much is $11.00 an hour weekly? ›

So to calculate your weekly income, see below: $11 an hour multiplied by 40 hours per week is $440 per week income.

How much tax gets taken out of a paycheck in NJ? ›

Overview of New Jersey Taxes
Gross Paycheck$3,146
Federal Income15.22%$479
State Income4.99%$157
Local Income3.50%$110
FICA and State Insurance Taxes7.80%$246
23 more rows

How many breaks do you get in a 8 hour shift in NJ? ›

15 minute break for 4-6 consecutive hours or a 30 minute break for more than 6 consecutive hours. If an employee works 8 or more consecutive hours, the employer must provide a 30-minute break and an additional 15 minute break for every additional 4 consecutive hours worked.

Is lunch break mandatory in NJ? ›

New Jersey Law

While employers typically provide lunch and meal breaks in New Jersey, there is no legal requirement for most employers to provide any breaks. Your right to take time off might be set by a formal policy in the company's employee handbook, an informal policy or even an unwritten practice.

How much does Shoprite pay in NJ? ›

Average Shoprite Store Cashier hourly pay in New Jersey is approximately $9.81, which is 18% below the national average.

How much is low income in NJ? ›

By Carla Astudillo | NJ Advance Media for NJ.com

A New Jersey family of four in 2018 has to earn $71,900 a year or less to be considered low-income, according to the Department of Housing and Urban Development — an almost six percent increase from last year.

What is a good salary for single person in NJ? ›

New York and New Jersey came in at fourth-highest. The survey determined that an individual needs to make an annual salary of $66,434 after taxes to live comfortably live in New York and New Jersey.

What is the poverty line in NJ for a single person? ›

The central eligibility criterion is having income at or below 138% of the federal poverty level (FPL). For 2020, for a person applying as a single individual, 138% FPL, is $1,468 per month or $17,609 per year.
...
Household SizeAnnualMonthly
+1$ 6,183$ 516
8 more rows

What does Walmart pay in NJ? ›

How much does Walmart in New Jersey pay? Average Walmart hourly pay ranges from approximately $10.00 per hour for Bakery Assistant to $28.00 per hour for Money Center Clerk. The average Walmart salary ranges from approximately $20,000 per year for Senior Associate to $203,000 per year for Principal Product Manager.

How much does Costco pay in NJ? ›

Costco Wholesale in New Jersey Salaries
Job TitleLocationSalary
Cashier salaries - 21 salaries reportedNew Jersey$33,310/yr
Supervisor salaries - 17 salaries reportedNew Jersey$41,765/yr
Stocker salaries - 17 salaries reportedNew Jersey$34,374/yr
Front End Cashier salaries - 16 salaries reportedNew Jersey$34,389/yr
16 more rows
8 Sept 2022

How much do baristas make at Starbucks in NJ? ›

Average Starbucks Barista hourly pay in New Jersey is approximately $14.17, which is 13% above the national average.

Can you work 7 days a week in New Jersey? ›

New Jersey law defines a workweek as a regularly recurring period of 168 hours which equates to seven (7) consecutive 24-hour periods. A workweek can begin on any day of the week and at any hour of the day and does not have to be the same as a calendar week.

How many days in a row can you work without a day off in NJ? ›

They may only work between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. During non-school weeks, they may work no more than 40 hours per week, no more than 8 hours per day, no more than 6 consecutive days in a pay week.

Is it illegal to not pay overtime in NJ? ›

The New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law establishes a minimum wage rate and overtime rate for all workers in New Jersey that are covered by the Act. The law requires the payment of time and one half per hour for actual hours worked in excess of 40 hours, with certain exemptions.

What state has the best paying jobs? ›

Highest-paying states by average salary
  • Massachusetts: $72,940.
  • New York: $70,460.
  • Washington: $68,740.
  • California: $68,510.
  • New Jersey: $67,120.
  • Connecticut: $66,130.
  • Maryland: $65,900.
  • Alaska: $63,480.

What states pay $15 an hour? ›

How Many States Have a $15 Minimum Wage?
  • Minimum Wage Management. Simplified. ...
  • Early 2022 State Minimum Wage Rates.
  • California. Long a pacesetter for employment law across the U.S., California marks the first state to reach the $15 threshold. ...
  • Connecticut. ...
  • Delaware. ...
  • Florida. ...
  • Hawaii. ...
  • Illinois.

What state in the US has the lowest minimum wage? ›

Which State Has the Lowest Minimum Wage? The two states with the lowest minimum wage are Georgia and Wyoming, both sitting at $5.15; however, employers in Georgia and Wyoming that are subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must still pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage.

What will NJ minimum wage be in 2025? ›

Seasonal employers, employers with 5 or fewer employees, and employers of farm laborers are given an additional 2 years for most of the changes. Those employers would see an increase to $10.30 on January 1, 2020, with $0.80 increases each January 1 until 2025, and then an increase to $15 per hour on January 1, 2026.

What was NJ minimum wage in 1980? ›

Minimum hourly wage of workers in jobs first covered by
Effective Date1938 Act 1
Jan 1, 1980$3.10 for all covered, nonexempt workers
Jan 1, 1981$3.35 for all covered, nonexempt workers
Apr 1, 1990 4$3.80 for all covered, nonexempt workers
Apr 1, 1991$4.25 for all covered, nonexempt workers
25 more rows

What was NJ minimum wage in 1975? ›

The minimum wage increased to $2.00 an hour in 1974, $2.10 in 1975, and $2.30 in 1976 for all except farm workers, whose minimum initially rose to $1.60. Parity with nonfarm workers was reached at $2.30 with the 1977 amendments.

What is the minimum age to work in NJ? ›

No minor under 16 years of age shall be employed, permitted, or suffered to work in, about, or in connection with any gainful occupation at any time; provided, that minors between 14 and 16 years of age may be employed, permitted or suffered to work outside school hours and during school vacations but not in or for a ...

What is the federal minimum wage? ›

The federal minimum wage for covered nonexempt employees is $7.25 per hour. Many states also have minimum wage laws. In cases where an employee is subject to both the state and federal minimum wage laws, the employee is entitled to the higher of the two minimum wages.

Is 70 hours a week a lot? ›

Working 70-hour weeks can be challenging, but it's also a way for some people to achieve their financial and career goals. By learning strategies to coordinate your work and manage your priorities, you can make this schedule more sustainable and continue pursuing an ambitious career path.

How many hours is full-time at Walmart? ›

Walmart considers any employee working 34 hours or more full time, although anyone working 30 hours a week or more is eligible for health coverage. With team scheduling, Walmart workers will have consistent 39 to 40-hour schedules, the retailer said.

Is 55 hours a week too much? ›

Working 55 hours or more per week is a serious health hazard,” added Dr Maria Neira, Director, Department of Environment, Climate Change and Health, at the World Health Organization. “It's time that we all, governments, employers, and employees wake up to the fact that long working hours can lead to premature death”.

Can you survive on minimum wage? ›

The minimum wage in the United States is no longer a living wage. Even though many states are paying more than this amount, minimum-wage earners continue to struggle to make ends meet. At $7.25, the federal minimum wage hasn't kept up with the cost of living in more than half a century.

Is Living Wage mandatory? ›

It's a minimum by law that all employers have to pay to employees over 25 years of age. There is one rate for the whole country with no allowance for the higher costs of living in the capital. The Real Living Wage is independently calculated, voluntary and based on the cost of living.

Why is minimum wage not a Living Wage? ›

The minimum wage is an amount set by law, whereas the living wage is determined by average costs to live. The amount needed to provide a living wage depends on what is included in the calculation. The amount set by lawmakers for the minimum wage must take into account the needs of businesses as well as workers.

Is the real Living Wage going up in 2022? ›

The real Living Wage rates are calculated annually to reflect the rising cost of living. This year, the announcement was brought forward to September 2022 so accredited Living Wage Employers could support their staff amid unprecedented rising costs.

What is the London minimum wage? ›

Rates before 1 April 2021
25 and over21 to 24
April 2019 to March 2020£8.21£7.70
April 2018 to March 2019£7.83£7.38
April 2017 to March 2018£7.50£7.05
October 2016 to March 2017£7.20£6.95
2 more rows

What states pay $15 an hour? ›

How Many States Have a $15 Minimum Wage?
  • Minimum Wage Management. Simplified. ...
  • Early 2022 State Minimum Wage Rates.
  • California. Long a pacesetter for employment law across the U.S., California marks the first state to reach the $15 threshold. ...
  • Connecticut. ...
  • Delaware. ...
  • Florida. ...
  • Hawaii. ...
  • Illinois.

What is the minimum wage in Jersey? ›

Phil Murphy signed. The legislation phases in a $15 an hour minimum wage which will be reached by 2024. The new $13 per hour wage doesn't affect all workers, though. Employers with fewer than six workers and seasonal businesses will increase their minimum wage to $11.90 an hour, up from $11.10.

What state has the highest minimum wage 2022? ›

As of January 1, 2022, the District of Columbia had the highest minimum wage in the U.S., at 15.2 U.S. dollars per hour. This was followed by California, which had 15 U.S. dollars per hour as the state minimum wage.

What is living wage in NJ? ›

Living Wage Calculation for New Jersey
1 ADULT2 ADULTS (BOTH WORKING)
0 Children2 Children
Living Wage$20.57$29.60
Poverty Wage$6.19$6.37
Minimum Wage$13.00$13.00

What's the minimum wage in all 50 states? ›

State Minimum Wage Rates 2022 vs. 2023
State2022 Minimum Wage2023 Minimum Wage (effective 1/1/23 except as noted)
Alaska$10.34
Arizona$12.80
Arkansas$11.00
California$15.00 for businesses with 26+ employees$15.00 minimum will apply to all employers Annual increases begin 1/1/23
47 more rows
21 Jul 2022

What state has the highest minimum wage? ›

Highest Local Minimum Wage Rates
State NameLocality NameMinimum Wage Rate
CaliforniaAlameda$15.00 per hour
CaliforniaSan Diego$15.00 per hour
New YorkNew York City$15.00 per hour
CaliforniaSanta Rosa$15.00 per hour
44 more rows

What city in the US has the highest minimum wage? ›

Cities With the Highest Real Minimum Wage
  • Minneapolis, MN. At the beginning of 2022, the minimum wage in Minneapolis, Minnesota stood at $12.50 for all employees and $14.25 for workers employed by large employers. ...
  • Buffalo, NY. ...
  • Denver, CO. ...
  • St. ...
  • Tucson, AZ. ...
  • Honolulu, HI. ...
  • Plano, TX. ...
  • New Orleans, LA.
28 Jan 2022

How much does target pay hourly in NJ? ›

How much does Target - Retail in New Jersey pay? Average Target hourly pay ranges from approximately $9.82 per hour for Cashier/Clerk to $25.00 per hour for Consumables Associate. The average Target salary ranges from approximately $19,001 per year for Retail Sales Associate to $154,517 per year for Store Director.

How many hours is full-time in NJ? ›

Full-Time Employee means an employee who works a normal work week of 25 or more hours.

Can I be paid under minimum wage? ›

It is illegal for your employer to pay you less than the National Minimum Wage rates. So check your pay and talk to your manager to make sure you're getting the wages you are legally entitled to. Feel uncomfortable talking to your manager and think you have been underpaid?

What state has the best paying jobs? ›

Highest-paying states by average salary
  • Massachusetts: $72,940.
  • New York: $70,460.
  • Washington: $68,740.
  • California: $68,510.
  • New Jersey: $67,120.
  • Connecticut: $66,130.
  • Maryland: $65,900.
  • Alaska: $63,480.

What city has the lowest minimum wage? ›

Honolulu

Where is the highest minimum wage in the world? ›

Australia maintains the world record as the country with the highest minimum wage. As fixed by the Fair Work Commission under the Australian Federal Government, the minimum wage in Australia is estimated at $18.29 (including taxes and other charges), which is equivalent to the weekly minimum wage of $694.90.

Is $17 an hour a livable wage? ›

After taxes, if you earn $17 an hour, you'll take home $26,520 a year. Your gross salary before taxes would be $35,360. This is a livable wage for a single person in a low to moderate cost of living area. It may be tough to save money or pay off debts if you have a family on this wage.

What salary is middle class in NJ? ›

To determine the income requirements of the middle class in each state, 24/7 Wall St.
...
StateNew Jersey
Household Income Range for Middle Class$39,920 - $197,868
Median Family Income$105,705
Middle Class Share of State's Income45.8%
Richest 5% Share of State's Income22.6%
49 more columns
20 Dec 2020

What is a good salary for a single person in NJ? ›

New York and New Jersey came in at fourth-highest. The survey determined that an individual needs to make an annual salary of $66,434 after taxes to live comfortably live in New York and New Jersey.

Videos

1. Minimum wage in New Jersey increases to $12 an hour
(NJ Spotlight News)
2. Some New Jersey employers increase wages to combat labor shortage
(News 12)
3. NJ Spotlight News: September 8, 2022
(NJ Spotlight News)
4. NJ Spotlight News: September 20, 2022
(NJ Spotlight News)
5. Minimum Wage Will Rise in 2022 | What is the minimum wage?
(LYFE Accounting)
6. New Jersey Minimum Wage Increase For 2021
(Workplace HCM Inc.)

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Dean Jakubowski Ret

Last Updated: 12/07/2022

Views: 5908

Rating: 5 / 5 (50 voted)

Reviews: 89% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Dean Jakubowski Ret

Birthday: 1996-05-10

Address: Apt. 425 4346 Santiago Islands, Shariside, AK 38830-1874

Phone: +96313309894162

Job: Legacy Sales Designer

Hobby: Baseball, Wood carving, Candle making, Jigsaw puzzles, Lacemaking, Parkour, Drawing

Introduction: My name is Dean Jakubowski Ret, I am a enthusiastic, friendly, homely, handsome, zealous, brainy, elegant person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.